Tags

, , , ,

To anyone who reads my blog and hasn’t read “The spoon theory” by Christine Miserandino I would very much advise reading it now. It is one of the best descriptions I have ever read of what it’s like to suffer from an invisible illness. It can be found here:

http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory-written-by-christine-miserandino/

I had a conversation a few weeks ago where I used the spoon theory to describe my condition to some friends. I was completely surprised by the look of shock on their faces. I had guessed that they didn’t fully understand, but it was a strange sensation to see them suddenly realising what it was like and how difficult it can be for people who suffer from invisible illnesses.

Since then I’ve run into a severe case of “not enough spoons”.  I’ve had money troubles (almost sorted), travel problems (it’s good to be home!), bizarre relationship upsets, responsibilities and requests for favours, and lots of fun with brain chemicals. Also, as a result of all this, I’ve been unable to sleep well for quite some time. The lack of sleep, in turn, makes me stress more about the problems, which makes it harder to sleep, etc. etc. ad infinatum.
As a result of all this I have several interesting new topics to write on for this blog, and not enough spoons to actually write them. Hence this somewhat self-pitying post. (Although if all it does is introduce some new people to the spoon theory it will have been worth it).

Things are beginning to look up though. Money has been sorted (for now) and I’m quite proud of the way I’ve been dealing with all the other issues that have come my way… with the possible exception of how I dealt with the travel issues, and that’s okay ‘cos I’m too busy being proud of how my friends dealt with it (and with me).

Now the sun is shining, and I’m getting lovely, lovely vitamin D, and all the world is full of possibilities.

