Tags

, , , ,

I try to be a good person. I try to help others. I think it’s very important to think of other people’s feelings and to be considerate towards them. There is, however, one person that I consistently treat badly: My future self. I’m sorry future Aoife, I really am.

I mean, I constantly take money that she needs for things like rent, and I spend it on silly fleeting things. I clutter up her house with impulse buys and I leave the clean laundry piled on her bed instead of putting it away. I put off things I need to do in the hopes that she’ll deal with them instead, until she ends up with an emergency on her hands. If I treated my housemate like I treat her I’d find myself out on my ear in short order!

It makes it even harder when I take into account how past Aoife has treated me! I start thinking “Why should I clear the bed for future me? I’m too busy trying to deal with the mess that past Aoife left on the floor!”
Well, I try not to let the way people treat me affect how I treat others. I try to be the best person I can be, even when I feel like I’m being treated like shit. Why should this be any exception. I’m going to break out of this cycle! Will you join me?My mum always told me to do a good deed every day. Well, today I’m going to put away all my clothes so future me won’t have to do it. Then I’m going to go to bed at a decent hour so that she won’t be tired tomorrow. That’s two good deeds right there! I’m exceeding expectations!

What are you going to do for your future self? Will you eat a good meal so your future self won’t be tired and hungry? Will you get up on time so your future self won’t get in trouble for being late? Will you get dressed in your best clothes so that your future self will feel beautiful and confident?

Go on… do your future self a favour!

